GlobeScan

evidence and ideas. applied.

Upcoming Webinar: Reducing Consumer Demand for Wildlife in Asia

USAID / GlobeScan Webinar: Reducing Consumer Demand for Wildlife in Asia
Webinars & Events
26/02/2019

Join us for this Global Webinar on Wednesday, March 27, 2019.

To combat wildlife trafficking, USAID Wildlife Asia, USAID Saving Species and GlobeScan conducted multiple wildlife consumer demand studies in China, Thailand and Vietnam. The results uncovered the beliefs, attitudes and values of consumers which drive them to buy and use wildlife parts and products. In this webinar, we will cover demand for parts and products derived from rhinos, elephants, pangolins and tigers, across these three major consumption countries. We will discuss evidence-based recommendations to help reduce the demand for these products among different consumer segments. We cordially invite you to participate in this important discussion with the presenters and panelists.

The webinar, hosted by GlobeScan, will take place on March 27, at 8pm Hong Kong, Beijing / 7pm Bangkok, Hanoi / 12pm London / 8am Washington, D.C. The agenda and panelists are:

  1. Introduction and moderation: Eleanora de Guzman, Team Lead, Social and Behavior Change Communication (SBCC), USAID Wildlife Asia
  2. Presentation: Wander Meijer, Director Asia Pacific, GlobeScan

 The Panelists:

  • Grace Gabriel, USAID Wildlife Asia (China)
  • My Ha, Task Lead, Demand Reduction, USAID Saving Species
  • Pakprim Oranop Na Ayuthaya, Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning Specialist, USAID Wildlife Asia

Please reserve your place today via the link below:

Register here


USAID Wildlife Asia

The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) works to address wildlife trafficking as a transnational crime through the USAID Wildlife Asia Activity. The Activity, based on Bangkok, aims to reduce consumer demand for wildlife parts and products, strengthen law enforcement, enhance legal and political commitment, and support regional collaboration to reduce wildlife crime in Southeast Asia, particularly Cambodia; Laos; Thailand; Vietnam, and China. Species focus of USAID Wildlife Asia are elephant ivory, rhino horn, tiger, and pangolin. For more information, please visit www.usaidwildlifeasia.org

USAID Saving Species

USAID Saving Species is a five-year project implemented in Vietnam. Its principal Government of Vietnam (GVN) counterpart is the CITES Management Authority of the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development. USAID Saving Species works to reduce consumer demand for and consumption of illegal wildlife and wildlife products, strengthen wildlife law enforcement and prosecution, and improve and harmonize the legal framework for wildlife. Species focus of USAID Saving Species include rhinos, elephants, and pangolins.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *